Reviews

   

   My Princess Boy

             By Cheryl Kilodavis

             Buy My Princess Boy

Reviews>

Highlighted Review>>Everything’s A Buzz

More>>

This book will help anyone accept being ‘different’,January 11, 2012

The author came to my little city with her family in tow and gave a great talk on her book and how it has changed her life. My husband and I bought the book just based on what she had said that day. She gave a great performance with a question and answer period afterwards. I read the book and think it is a great way to introduce adults to ‘being different’ and acceptance. I say it is great for adults because most kids accept difference already, it’s the adults that have the problems. This is a lovely illustrated tale that will educate and entertain your little ones or not-so-little ones.

My Princess Boy, what a find!,December 7, 2011

I am always looking out for great books for my little man. He loves to read, and cuddling up before bedtime to read a story is one of his great joys. Our whole family loves this book so much. You can tell that this story is written from the heart, and kudos to the mommy for writing it! This is exactly the kind of material that kids need these days to enforce that ‘different’ doesn’t necessarily mean ‘bad’ or ‘wrong’. I’m recommending this to all of my friends with young kids.

Read More Amazon Reviews 

Press Reviews and Comments>

“I think it’s fantastic…I think that what it tells us is that these boys, their parents, and the social world is no longer the same…There are people who need this kind of information and this kind of help.” –Dr. Ken Corbett, author of Boyhoods: Rethinking Masculinities, discussing My Princess Boy on The Today Show, January 3, 2011

“Dyson’s mom lets her son be exactly who he is and she celebrates it…I would call you (Cheryl) my expert having lived through this.”—Dr. Drew Pinsky, Dr. Drew Show, April 2011

“Truly inspirational!”—Perez Hilton, PerezHilton.com, October 2010

“I actually love this book…This is an age-appropriate way to communicate the message of acceptance…I fully support you supporting your son…We need to teach our kids that different is okay and let’s be inclusive.”—Dr. Phil, Dr. Phil, December 2011

“Great message of tolerance and acceptance, and if there was more of this, we would have no wars.”—Sharon Osborne, The Talk, December 2010

“I think you’re a very interesting family, that you have so much support from your husband…and from your son…It’s a great thing, I congratulate you.”—Joy Behar, The Joy Behar Show, January 2011

“The book was a hit, its message about acceptance as much as gender…and suddenly Cheryl has become an accidental activist…Dyson seems to be perfectly happy just being a Princess Boy.”—Nightline, ABC News, August 2011

“DeSimone’s illustrations are colorful, bright, and positive. Children may ask why the people depicted have no faces, which may spark discussions about how we are all the same. This is a book about unconditional love, social acceptance, and a strong family. It is also a call for diversity, tolerance, and an end to bullying and judgments.”—School Library Journal, June 2011

“For Dyson, it’s a way of being creative. It’s not really a gender issue for him. He identifies as being a boy. He’s a happy, happy kid. He’s very creative…I love that the family is supporting his passion.”—Psychologist Dr. Debora Vilhauer

 “Wow! I was truly blown away…by this story of unconditional love, acceptance, and support and tolerance…Is there a powerful message in this book for our kids? You bet!!!”—Words By Mom (WordsByMom.com)

HEAR FROM CHAMPIONS AROUND THE WORLD>>>

 

“This is a breath of fresh air. Seeing  parents who are still loving and supporting as my parents are. Thank you for being supportive. :)

“How fabulous that you have opened this country’s awareness!”

“Just wanted to praise you! You are amazing and what a great message you are sending. Keep up the great work.”

“I think it is great that you wrote an anti-bullying book about your son.  I am an educator and am pleased to hear of your proactive role in dealing with bullying.”

“We are so thankful for all the work you are doing with your book.”

“Thanks for loving your son the way he is and for sharing it with the world.

I love your ideas and beliefs!!!”

“I do not have children but I just wanted to let you know that you are an inspiration to every parent out there.”

“I agree with dr.phil when he said you should make this book a series….I think parents everywhere need to teach their children to be accepting of everyone, no matter their disability, gender, sexual preference or economic status.”

“I was a child growing up in a family where i was taught to accept everyone, but not every child grows up that way.”

“I believe your books can change the world!!! Thank you for being you!!!”

“You are a light and a blessing to the world.”

“This evening my grandmother (87 years old) was watching you on Dr. Phil when I visited her at her home.  We gathered around the TV and watched with joy and delight; inspired.  My grandmother commented, “that’s how it should be – that’s wonderful!”  I agree.  God Bless you and may you continue to have great success with your family and the journey of your son – who is truly teaching the world how to embrace our natural selves.”

“ I congratulate you for being supportive of your son.”

“Nurture your boy, keep loving him and supporting him, and I give you my best wishes.”

Leave a Reply